Why is this website of interest to you?

Much of Kingsmill is owned by Xanterra, whose motivation is the same as that of any corporation — to make money.   Xanterra claims that they conduct their business “to include sustainability practices that conserve natural resources” (http://www.xanterra.com/who-we-are/our-success) and has “pledged that the company … would continue to set the standard for ecologically sound resorts that complement, not harm their natural surroundings” (http://www.xanterra.com/about-us).  Nevertheless, Xanterra has filed an application with James City County Planning Commission which, if approved, would result in drastic changes to the ecology and to the natural surroundings of Kingsmill.

KCSA  is not a Homeowners’ Association and, in many ways, is prohibited from representing the homeowners in matters concerning Xanterra’s plans.  Of the 9 directors on the KCSA Board, 5 are appointed by Xanterra, ensuring that Xanterra can always prevail in any dispute that comes before the KCSA Board.

This website is intended to provide a forum for homeowners to freely express their views and ask questions.  To encourage free expression, we do not require those who add comments to register or to identify themselves.  However, we do ask that comments added be appropriate and relevant, and we reserve the right to remove inappropriate or irrelevant comments and/or to require registration in the future.

Is this website useful?
Do you think it is useful to have a website that allows you to express your views about Kingsmill?

One Response to Why is this website of interest to you?

  1. Michael McGurk

    This is a valuable service to all residents. KCSA does not have the ability to tell it like it is.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>